Dennis Johnson Tournament

IMG_0646Congratulation to the winners of the 2015 Dennis Johnson Tournament.  The Mullingar team of Mags Tracey, Anne Varley, Vincent Leavy and Paddy Bardon emerged victorious over Athlone.  The photo shows the proud victorious team holding the Dennis Johnson Memorial Trophy after the presentation by Club President John Murphy.

The final of the Dennis Johnston Memorial Inter Club tournament took place in Mullingar on Friday 6th November.  The final was between Mullingar and reigning champions Athlone.  The doubles were on court first with Mags Tracey and Anne Varley up against the Athlone pair of Jacinta Digby and Sine MacFarlane and Paddy Bardon and Vincent Leavy up against Dave Costello and Tomasz Koza.  The Mullingar ladies won in 2 sets and for a while it looked like the Athlone men would win by the same margin. The Mullingar men dug deep in the second coming from behind to win the set 7-6.  Athlone however won the 3rd. The mixed was on next with Vincent and Mags up against Tomasz and Jacinta while Paddy and Anne played Dave and Sine.  Athlone won the first mixed in 2 sets while Mullingar won the second by the same score.  With the match tied at 2 rubbers each it came down to sets won.  Mullingar having won the second set in the men’s doubles won the final by 1 set.  Well done to Mags, Anne, Vincent and Paddy on winning the cup, Mullingar’s first win in the competition.  Hard luck to Jacinta, Sine, Dave and Tomasz who will be looking forward to next year to try and regain the cup.  Our President John Murphy presented the cup to Mags Tracey winning captain.  The club would like to thank the Johnston family and to all the teams that took part.